Historic hotel in Wiltshire. The Bishopstrow Hotel and Spa now and then
Originally the manor house was built in 1736 by the Temple Family who continued to own the property for around 200 years. In 1770 the Doric Temple was built along the banks of our private stretch of the River Wylye along with a summer house and Ha-ha.
A new house was built in 1817 north of the original manor house to a design by John Pinch, the elder and is where we stand today.
In 1977 Kurt Schiller purchased the property and turned it into a hotel and over the following ten years increased the amount of bedrooms available, built two swimming pools and tennis courts.
The property exchanged hands over the many years and until very recently was purchased by Longleat Enterprise Limited, famous for the Longleat Safari and Adventure Park.
The Bishopstrow Hotel is located within its own 27 acres of established grounds alongside the River Wylye. Ideal for short family breaks or for those wishing to have a peaceful and relaxing time away. Conveniently located between Bath and Salisbury off the M4 , A36 and 6 miles from Longleat nestled in the beautiful Wiltshire countryside.